Friday, January 16, 2004 :::
There are a million things I have to get done today both personal and work related. Don't get me wrong I love it that there's things to do! Keeps my mind off Fel and allows me to be more organized and focused. Today I've got a couple of calls to make. I need to ring BMW to book the car in for a service. As I was driving it yesterday the car sort of jerked and it took a while for the next gear to kick it. In short and in lay man's term...NO POWER!. Funny thing with the car is, it only happes if it has been stationary for a while. I dropped off my aunt at my second cousin's place and waited for my parents. Then I felt the car vibrating and decided to turn it off. Once I turned it back on again the problems started. We have been having similar problems for a while but I think it has gotten worse. Then I need to run off to the Post Office to mail Kris her 4WD catalogue thing. Tomorrow I need to get up bright and early to so that I can claim my ambulance charges with Medibank Private.
Work wise I have to make numerous calls to our advertising company, our two hotels both in Circular Quay and here in Double bay to place a reservation for Valentine's Day and our decorations suppliers. I've been waiting for that fax and email since yesterday and I have had no response. My marketing proposal has been drawn up but am awaiting quotes and approval. It has been semi approved but of course I need the final figures for accounts department. Do I like marketing? Sure do! It is very interesting and now I question majoring in marketing for a degree. Don't get me wrong I know alot of people who majored in marketing but I feel that marketing is not something you should learn theoretically but rather practically. To a certain extent experience is much more important than a piece of paper.
I had this discussion once with a friend and we both agreed that the paper is an added bonus towards obtaining a job but it is YOU who decides whether or not the job is yours. There are countless graduates out there who are unemployed, I blame this on being choosy and over educated. Over-educated did she say? Yes I believe you can be. Take for example a graduate with a Bachelor's degree armed with 2 years work experience and a graduate with both a Bachelors and Masters but with no experience. Being the employer who would you prefer? Personally I would employ the first simply because he/she is experienced. This is the reason why I strongly insist on working AND studying for Masters at the same time instead of jumping straight from a BA to MA. Does not make sense to the working world. Or would you disagree? I guess I have come to this summation because I have met many MA grads who find it exceptionally hard to get a job without experience.
But of course this is my own opinion and you can disagree if you like. I just find it more practical this way. When someone told me working and studying is completely different I did not fully understand. I always thought working would be easier because you go to work 9-5 go home with no assignments and have a ball of time resting at home. But AHA! that's where I'm wrong. As a student you only needed to think of deadlines and study a month a head of exams, you did not go to uni 8 hours a day and even if you had to you had the choice to bludge. At work you are constantly bombarded by work, you need to please your boss, you need to please the clients and most of all you need to concentrate on getting your job well done. It is a daily battle that then becomes a routine. Mind you I do love my job but I do look back on uni days and wonder why didn't I truly appreciate them? But am thankful that I have had such good memories and made such terrific friends!
I think I better get back to work...am getting overboard reminiscing! Have a blast this weekend everyone!
::: posted by Sass O at Friday, January 16, 2004
Tuesday, January 13, 2004 :::
I love waking up to Fel. On mornings when we agree to speak to each other on the phone Fel will sms me at 6am on the dot, normally I would've just gotten up and few seconds later I'd hear my phone beep. I'd then ring him and we'll talk for that few minutes, today was for slightly longer as we both really wanted to speak to each other. So called him for about 5 mins, showered, blow dried my hair and put some makeup on for about half an hour. Throughout that time we were sending sms. Then I had 10 minutes to spare so quickly called him. I absolutely loved it because it felt as if he really was there in the house with me watching me as I got ready. It felt very familiar, relaxing and warm.
But because of that I was late for work, well I got in at about 8am but I drove instead of catching the bus. Was my first time driving to work and when I got onto New South Head Road it then became a little bit frustrating. Thankfully my dad was with me so it helped calm my nerves and what more I've got an extra pair of eyes. You see New South Head Road is a windy uphill and downhill 3 lane roadway. Being a new driver I chose to drive on the left lane, but ignorant drivers decided to park on that lane instead! What more they just HAD to park right after the traffic lights! Together with maniac drivers and ignorant parkers I had to battle cutting into other lanes. The 3 lane changed into a 4 lane back to 2 lanes and 3 lanes again all within 2km. So imagine me on the left lane cutting into the middle then finding myself on the right lane because it had become a 4 lane with no ignorant parkers at the side and then back to the middle lane once I got onto the 3 lanes which I then needed to keep to the furthest left as I had to turn left at the lights. Sydney has the silliest roads ever. But I guess if I were used to the roads it won't be too bad. It is my first time anyway so now I know that once I get on New South Head Road I shall keep right all the way till I need to turn left, makes things easier for me!
Yesterday I had dinner with Chad and Gayle over at Forresters. They are famous for their AUD5 steaks! If you're thinking they will be horrible you're so wrong. Its yummilicious! The steak is easily 200-300gms and its placed on top of a heap of mash potatoes. I particularly love their gravy. However if you do go there please do not order your steak Medium Rare, its almost Rare! I learnt my lesson a while ago and Medium is the best. If you're not into steaks they've got Chicken and Fish as well. Chad had a chicken salad and it looked good. Imagine having them for less than AUD10 with drinks! Mine was about AUD8 of course if you ordered a glass or wine or beer it would be more expensive. They do have a variety of other foods but they basically start from AUD12. So if you're on a budget and badly need a good steak have it there! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.
We had dinner for over an hour as we had good dinner conversation. They asked about my new job and trip back to Malaysia also talked about other friends in general. Together with great atmosphere (mind you the place is 2 shoplots and 3 stories high.) good cheap food and great company what else can one ask for? It was also the first time I picked a friend up since I got my licence! What an achievement....eheheh. Better get to work now. Have a couple of calls to make and I need to start on my 6 months marketing plan. Also I intend to revamp our website for Cosmopolitan Centre because I find that it does not portray Double Bay shopping correctly. Will organize a meeting with our designer sometime next week. Work IS getting a little bit more exciting and am loving it!
P/S: I've got a distant cousin that's studying here in Sydney and her mom who is my dad's cousin rang yesterday. She wants to meet up with us of course I will attend the dinner or what nots but I always feel awkward around relatives I did not know I had!
::: posted by Sass O at Tuesday, January 13, 2004
Monday, January 12, 2004 :::
How ya all feeling after the weekend? I feel rather refreshed as I had a pretty relaxing weekend. Didn't do much except to clean the backyard and kitchen of the house where the dogs get to roam freely each day I'm at work. Got to sleep in late on both days and I really loved my Sunday morning. Woke up to an sms from Fel at about 8.30am and we spoke on the phone for over an hour. We both needed that conversation badly as both of us did not have time during the week, actually its because of me. I usually leave the house at 7am to get to work and get home at about 9pm. When I'm awake Fel would be asleep and when I get home he'd normally be out only on the rare occassions do we get to speak at length on a weekday.
Really can't wait till he gets back and I hope he gets on that earlier flight. I counted the days till he would be back and he asked me why I did that cause it only makes it harder. Initially I thought that wasn't true but now after much thought I realize that it DOES make it sound and feel so much longer instead of just saying 3 weeks. Its so frustrating, especially when I'm used to waking up next to him in the mornings. Now I wake up to my dog next to me in the morning when he's so NOT supposed to be there. I used to have to push him off the bed throughout the night and he learnt his lesson but somehow he decided to find his way to the bed again. Once I remember I pushed him off and he was dead asleep that he just fell *smack* on the carpet! I could not stop laughing after that cause he just sat there looking at me wondering what happened.
Ah...dogs....they truly are man's bestfriend what more Fel and I have two of them! In regards to my previous entry, Fel and I have decided that we should talk about it in better detail once he gets back here. For now its at how its been planned and I'm pretty happy though worried and scared at the same time.
::: posted by Sass O at Monday, January 12, 2004